Adding insult to injury

I got a speeding ticket this morning. Can you believe this? I mean, apparently I was doing 53 in a 30 zone. Not that I don’t believe it – I’m sure I was doing it. But sheesh. I’m not the only one speeding this morning – why did I have to get caught?!? Today of all days? I explained to the “nice” officer that my daughter was critically ill in the hospital and I just wasn’t paying attention. He said he was very “sorry” to be adding to my troubles as he handed me my ticket. He also said that “if it makes me feel any better” his buddy had a premature baby that was just shy of 2 lbs and she’s fine now. Ummm… no, that doesn’t make me feel any better. Sorry.

Esref stayed with Lina last night and I stayed with Annika (who went to sleep by herself for the 2nd time in a row! Way to go!). She is now on an oscillator. That’s a big, scary-looking ventilator that puffs like 400-600 breaths per minute. She looks so, so sick. It breaks my heart. The doctor said this morning that things are going in the right direction, but we are by no means out of the woods. He said he was very happy that she made it through the night, so that’s something. And she opens her eyes and looks at me when I talk to her.

0 Responses to “Adding insult to injury”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Me

I'm a grieving mom. I have one beautiful daughter, Annika, who's 3 years old now (born 12/28/04). I also had twins, Lina and Cole, on 10/04/07, born at just 26 weeks. We lost Cole after just 23 days due to complications related to his prematurity. Fiesty little Lina overcame so much and just when she was getting ready to come home with us, suddenly had a complication unrelated to her prematurity and passed away on January 11, 2008. This blog is about getting through it. More...

