It was a rough day…

…but she’s still hanging in there. After the scare with the plugged respiratory tube, they tried to put a central (picc) line in her. I swear they tried for 2 hours or more. And it was very experienced doctors doing the work. They just couldn’t get one in her tiny veins. They finally did though. The poor thing just went through hell today though.

After that ordeal, the surgeon came and told me that her belly was very distended again and they were somewhat concerned that she had internal bleeding. The distention makes her have a very hard time breathing. So they wanted to try to put a tube in to see if they could drain some of the fluid. If that didn’t work, they had some other, more horrible sounding things to try. But the tube they put in seems to be doing its job. It also looks like just clear fluid, not blood that’s coming off, so that’s good too. She is still with us, so that is a good thing. She’ll have surgery again tomorrow to see how much of her bowel is damaged. Oh please, please let it be minimal. I can’t face the alternative.

She recognizes me though. When I’d go in and put my hand on her head, or talk to her, she’d start blinking her eyes. When I stopped talking, she’d stop blinking. It was heartwarming to know that she could see/hear me and respond. She was lying there and making sucking motions, poor thing. I wish I could give her her paci to make her feel better.

7 Responses to “It was a rough day…”


  1. 1 Jill January 11, 2008 at 8:44 am

    Patrice,

    We are keeping you, Esref, Annika and baby Lina in our thoughts and prayers. Sending lots of hugs and positive thoughts your way!

    Jill

  2. 2 CC_NY christy January 11, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Patrice thinking of your precious girl today and hoping the surgery goes very well.

  3. 3 christine rudnicki January 11, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Patrice-

    Lina is in my prayers today. Hoping all goes well with her surgery. keep your chin up.

  4. 4 Holly January 11, 2008 at 10:59 am

    Patrice & family – You are in our thoughts and we are all praying for you.

  5. 5 Miki (MJ) January 11, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Much love and hugs to you, friend.

    Miki

  6. 6 Robin (from MOMs) January 11, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Patrice,

    Linda forwarded your information to the MOMs group. I am keeping you, Lina, and your family in my prayers. I am the mom of triplet 30-weekers who had a tough go in the NICU, and I can completely understand what you’re going through. Please call me if you need anything or want to talk — (203) 980-8331.

    <<>>

  7. 7 Michelle T January 11, 2008 at 11:47 am

    My heart just about melted when you posted that she recognizes you and would blink when you were near.

    I pray with all I have for your beautiful little Lina. I hope surgery goes/went well today.

    I am here for you my friend,
    Michelle


Leave a Reply

About Me

I'm a grieving mom. I have one beautiful daughter, Annika, who's 3 years old now (born 12/28/04). I also had twins, Lina and Cole, on 10/04/07, born at just 26 weeks. We lost Cole after just 23 days due to complications related to his prematurity. Fiesty little Lina overcame so much and just when she was getting ready to come home with us, suddenly had a complication unrelated to her prematurity and passed away on January 11, 2008. This blog is about getting through it. More...

