Did you know she had a nickname?

I called her Jelly Bean.  Or “Lina Lina Jelly Beana”.  That’s what Annika called her too.  When she got sick, right up until she died, I was singing to her “Lina Lina Jelly Beana, prettiest girl I’ve ever seen-a” (or strongest girl).  Oh, how I want my jelly bean back.

7 Responses to “Did you know she had a nickname?”


  1. 1 Edith January 12, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    What a cute nickname she had.

  2. 2 Elizabeth January 12, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    What an adorable nickname. I am so sorry for the loss of your little ones. They were both adorable. I thought of you all last night, I could not sleep. I am so very, very sorry.

  3. 3 P.Williams January 12, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    That’s such a beautiful story. I feel so privileged to that you are willing to share this with us. I want to write a poem for Lina too, maybe several as I have words (lines) haunting me, but they haven’t taken form yet. Sometimes I don’t feel like I write the poem, but rather like it’s sent to me to write, so I’m waiting for the rest of it. I know the words are for you and I know I have to write them when they come.

  4. 4 Jana Woodbury January 12, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    Patrice…my love and prayers are with your family! I’m so very sorry for all that has happened. I know you will one day be back together with Cole and Lina! Jelly Bean is a darling nickname! Please know that we are here to support you and love you. Please let me know what I can do for you or if I can help in any way. I may be far away in Utah but my thoughts are with you! You are an amazing person and a wonderful mother.

    JT (Jana Woodbury) on Baby Steps

  5. 5 ajarbythedoor January 13, 2008 at 1:42 am

    I am so sorry for your loss. Thank you for sharing your story. My thoughts are with you and your family.

  6. 6 Elizabeth January 13, 2008 at 1:56 am

    Hi again, you have been in my thoughts all day. I am praying for your family.

    Elizabeth

  7. 7 Tahira January 13, 2008 at 9:53 am

    Patrice,
    I am so sorry! I wish I could be with you and hold you. I love you. I am praying for you.


Leave a Reply

About Me

I'm a grieving mom. I have one beautiful daughter, Annika, who's 3 years old now (born 12/28/04). I also had twins, Lina and Cole, on 10/04/07, born at just 26 weeks. We lost Cole after just 23 days due to complications related to his prematurity. Fiesty little Lina overcame so much and just when she was getting ready to come home with us, suddenly had a complication unrelated to her prematurity and passed away on January 11, 2008. This blog is about getting through it. More...

