Thank god for Annika

If not for her I probably wouldn’t get out of bed.  We did each other’s nails this morning.manicure.jpg 

9 Responses to “Thank god for Annika”


  1. 1 Julie Johnson January 14, 2008 at 9:21 am

    Oh, Patrice. My thoughts are with you and your family. You’ve had much more than your share of grief! It’s just so unfair. Please take care! I don’t know what to say other than this just sucks and that I hurt for you.
    We’ll talk more soon,
    Julie

  2. 2 JoAnn Hagen January 14, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Patrice:
    Even though they say there is a reason for everything, I will never understand why you have had so much to bear in the last years.

    I do know and strongly believe that Lina is now in the loving arms of her grandparents Darlene & Gary and great-grandma Bugs right along with Cole.

    Every heartful thought and prayer goes out to you and your family.

    Jo & Jerald.

  3. 3 Kat January 14, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Glad that you have some sunshine today!

    kat

  4. 4 Joyce January 14, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Patrice-

    Truer words have never been said – Thank God for Annika – I know that there will be plenty of times that you will struggle to get out of bed and that is okay – do what you need to in order to get through the day – one hour at a time.

    Sending you all the hugs and love and support…

  5. 5 Feride January 14, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Ne guzel bir fotograf, bugun icimi mutlulukla dolduran tek sey bu oldu.

    Dunya harikasi Annika’yi sevgiyle opuyorum, arkadasim.

    Feride

  6. 6 Nazli January 14, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Patrice’cim Feride’ye katiliyorum. Ne kadar guzel ve uslu Annika… Bu zor doneminizde Annika’ya sarilmak bir nebze teselli olacaktir aileniz icin diye temenni ediyorum.

    Aklimdasiniz…

    Sevgilerimle,
    Nazli

  7. 7 Kay-Tah's Mother Duluth January 14, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Patrice, I will be there Wed. to love, hug and support you,
    with love from Tahira and myself.

  8. 8 P.Williams January 14, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Patrice, She is so beautiful. What a wonderful way to spend the morning. I just love that picture. Patti

  9. 9 Trish January 17, 2008 at 5:37 am

    Patrice – I am but a stranger from afar .Words are inadequate to express the deep sorrow I truly feel that you,your husband, and little girl,Annika have lost your precious babies Lina, and her twin Cole.I am sorry you are having to deal with this tragic event (twice).

    There is NOTHING I could possible say to ease your pain. I know that many may mean well in the things they say, but most of the time they make no sense to us in our grieving.

    I lost my daughter @26 wks gestation 3 years 4 months ago.I still feel the pain of her absence in our family. It is something I am trying to absorb into my life as I feel it has changed me as a person.

    How do you cope? One day at a time. Find a good counsellor, talk about Lina & Cole, allow yourselves to cry and cry and cry for however long it takes, get to understand the stages of grief (one step forward, two steps backward), give each other the space and time you both need to grieve as individuals, journal your feelings, write them a letter, create an album for her & Cole , plant a tree…the best advice someone gave me was to cry whenever I felt like crying. Don’t stop yourself from doing this.

    Draw on your great personal strength as you continue this journey.


Leave a Reply

About Me

I'm a grieving mom. I have one beautiful daughter, Annika, who's 3 years old now (born 12/28/04). I also had twins, Lina and Cole, on 10/04/07, born at just 26 weeks. We lost Cole after just 23 days due to complications related to his prematurity. Fiesty little Lina overcame so much and just when she was getting ready to come home with us, suddenly had a complication unrelated to her prematurity and passed away on January 11, 2008. This blog is about getting through it. More...

