The world’s most depressing blog

I think I have the world’s most depressing blog. And I think it’ll be that way for awhile.

9 Responses to “The world’s most depressing blog”


  1. 1 Jen @ amazingtrips January 18, 2008 at 12:09 am

    Patrice, I don’t know about you – but for me, writing is extremely cathartic. Even if you don’t post everything that you write, just getting your thoughts out on “paper” can be wonderfully healing. Unfortunately, I know too many people who have lost children. Many of them have gone on to start blogs as an outlet for their feelings and to connect with other people who are able to relate.

    One of the blogs that I’ve followed is by a woman who lost her GBB triplets, this past year. They were born at 23w6d. One of her babies, Jaxon, held on for almost three months. Even though I’ve never met this woman, she has been in my prayers every night – just as you have been ever since I read your blog, last week. Perhaps you might be able to find some comfort in her words. Here’s the link: http://www.tripletbutterflywings.blogspot.com/

    I cannot imagine anything more painful than what you are going through. Please know that you are in my thoughts and heart.

  2. 2 Julie Johnson January 18, 2008 at 10:02 am

    For me, writing is a release. It helps me examine my thoughts and emotions, without which I would probably just stuff them, as it would be so much easier. I’m going to keep checking in here (“World’s most depressing blog,” or not) and posting responses to your thoughts. Life is really hard sometimes, but it’s with the support of friends that we get through it. This is a long term process.

    I was glad I was able to be in Duluth the other day, too brief though it was. The service was so sad, and my heart aches for you. But, seeing both Annika, and Steph & Charles’ little boy gives me a glimmer of hope. My mom always says that having children is like having faith in the future or an act of hope in humanity… which in and of itself is a risk… I can honestly say I still maybe only have an inkling of what she means, but now I know that is what makes this so very sad… hopes and dreams dashed, far too early.

    Please know that I have hopes and dreams for you, your family and all of us. They may seem distant now, but sometime, they will come back to the front of your mind. The blending of both the Muslim and Christian traditions in Lina’s service was something that really gives me hope for all of us. It was a powerful demonstration of our humanity, despite distinct differences.

    My thoughts are with you Patrice and Esref. Take care and we’ll talk more soon.
    Julie

  3. 3 Maura January 18, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    I think it is important to get it out so don’t worry about it being depressing. I am going to keep checking on you too.

  4. 4 Elizabeth January 18, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    If it helps you, you should do it. I will also continue to check on you. I check your site daily and keep you in prayers. Elizabeth

  5. 5 Stephanie January 18, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    I am so sorry about your lost. I lost twin girls on September 23, 2002. I remember it like it was yesterday. I noticed that you used Greenwich Hospital. They have the most amazing bereavement group for pregnancy losses that meets the third Wednesday of every month. That group is what helped me to survive. I do not attend any more, but I did the first year after my loss. It was nice to talk or not talk/just listen to other parents who unfortunately have been down a similar path as you. I felt so alone, and it was nice to have others to talk to who got it. I wish for you much peace and strength in the days ahead. Your blog has been a good read for me. I will keep you in my prayers.
    Stephanie

  6. 6 Kim January 18, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    Although sad, it is not depressing. It is a way for us to feel your pain and keep you in our thoughts and prayers. Continue to let us know how you, Annika and Esref are doing. We truly care about you and are here to get your through this difficult time. I’m too glad you have Annika there – she is so sweet and if she keeps you going then that is what it takes. I love the photo of you doing nails together – precious! Kim

  7. 7 Hilary January 18, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    Patrice,

    While sad, the power and depth of your love for your family is very beautiful.

    It is also a way for you to let your many friends know how you are and how we might support you.

    I will continue to hold you and your family in my prayers

    Hilary
    Babysteps

  8. 8 karen January 19, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    You are in my thoughts and prayers. How I wish I could ease your pain,though I’ve never met you. Please know that people you don’t even know care.

  9. 9 Krissy January 24, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Patrice,

    I can not express how much my heart breaks for you. I can’t imagine the deep, painful losses you’ve endured. You are my hero for even being able to get out of bed in the morning. After my miscarriage, I doubted my ability to do so sometimes and your loss must be so much more debilitating.

    My prayers are with you and your family as you travel this road towards healing.

    Thanks for the comment on my blog.

    Krissy


Leave a Reply

About Me

I'm a grieving mom. I have one beautiful daughter, Annika, who's 3 years old now (born 12/28/04). I also had twins, Lina and Cole, on 10/04/07, born at just 26 weeks. We lost Cole after just 23 days due to complications related to his prematurity. Fiesty little Lina overcame so much and just when she was getting ready to come home with us, suddenly had a complication unrelated to her prematurity and passed away on January 11, 2008. This blog is about getting through it. More...

