On not scaring kids

I managed to go to a birthday party for one of Annika’s friends without scaring any children (by crying – kids really freak out when they see grownups cry. I know, because I caused a fair deal of upset at daycare the other day). And without embarrassing myself. And one of the nurses from the Greenwich NICU, who helped out with Lina on the day she got sick, is the future sister-in-law of Annika’s friend’s mom (did you get that?). Seeing her there did make my heart hurt a little. But I knew she would be there so I was ready. And she is very, very sweet.

Can I make it two for two? Tomorrow is another birthday party.

2 Responses to “On not scaring kids”


  1. 1 Dana January 20, 2008 at 7:41 am

    One day at a time. Again – I am simply amazed by your strength. Thinking about you guys!

  2. 2 Joyce January 20, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Patrice-

    You are doing what a loving, caring mom does for her kids – she puts their needs ahead of her own, no matter what the cost. I could not even begin to imagine how difficult it was to see Lina’s nurse – but you did it – you survived another day – for Annika, and for you.

    Your family is never far from my heart and mind –

    Hugs –


Leave a Reply

About Me

I'm a grieving mom. I have one beautiful daughter, Annika, who's 3 years old now (born 12/28/04). I also had twins, Lina and Cole, on 10/04/07, born at just 26 weeks. We lost Cole after just 23 days due to complications related to his prematurity. Fiesty little Lina overcame so much and just when she was getting ready to come home with us, suddenly had a complication unrelated to her prematurity and passed away on January 11, 2008. This blog is about getting through it. More...

