Fee Fi Fo Fum

Terrible blogger, I am. I’ve just been too exhausted to write anything meaningful. I’ll be back. I will. But in the meantime, I bring you this conversation:

I was reading “Jack and the Beanstalk” to Annika.
Me: Fee Fi Fo Fum. I smell the blood of an Englishman.
Annika: Fee Fi Fo Fum. (giggling) I don’t like that fum word.
Me: You don’t like Fum?
Annika: No. I only like Fee.
Me:
What about Fi and Fo?
Annika: I like Fi, but not those other ones.
Me: Fo and Fum?
Annika: Yeah. I don’t like them.

She wouldn’t tell me why. I love the three year old mind.

6 Responses to “Fee Fi Fo Fum”


  1. 1 Feride May 28, 2008 at 3:55 am

    I thought it’s a good idea to read this story to Selin, -never did that before- so last night I read it to her before going to sleep but she didn’t really relate to money matters (even though she’ll be turning 3 next month) She didn’t understand why they were so poor and why they were so happy with so much money and gold.

    But she did find the story really exciting and thought that the chicken laying gold eggs was really funny. As long as the story ends happy, she’s happy ı guess…

    So thanks for reminding me this one! Keep on writing about Annika, I really miss her.

  2. 2 P.Williams May 29, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Too cute. Maybe someday she will tell you.

    Patti

  3. 3 E. Goldstein June 17, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    thinking of you (pl.) and hope that you’re well xxE.

  4. 4 P.Williams June 28, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    I just wanted to see if you’d posted anthing new and how you’re doing. I look forward to hearing more about Annika. She is just so cute. I can’t wait to see what jewels Danile comes up with once he starts talking. Hugs ~ Patti

  5. 5 Elizabeth June 30, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Just checking in to see how you are doing. Thinking of you and hoping you are well.

  6. 6 A.M.S. September 17, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    I love the way the minds of little ones work!

    I’m sorry, I don’t know how else to contact you. I’d like to ask you something. Would you mind emailing me at ourowncreation at gmail dot com? That sounds so ominous, but it isn’t, I promise!


Leave a Reply

About Me

I'm a grieving mom. I have one beautiful daughter, Annika, who's 3 years old now (born 12/28/04). I also had twins, Lina and Cole, on 10/04/07, born at just 26 weeks. We lost Cole after just 23 days due to complications related to his prematurity. Fiesty little Lina overcame so much and just when she was getting ready to come home with us, suddenly had a complication unrelated to her prematurity and passed away on January 11, 2008. This blog is about getting through it. More...

